Daily Archives: December 23, 2011

Random Musings Friday!

“Linking Up” with Shana! 😉

Merry Christmas Eve Eve!

We’re wrapping up our last minute gifts, literally, and wolfing down cookies, because come Monday, we’re done with the holiday eating and back on the no to low sugar train. We’ve been eating generally healthy this week, but the cookies seem to be multiplying! Every time I think we’re out, I find MORE. Last night I found some in the fridge when I was hoping for leftovers. Cookies for dinner was appealing, but glazed salmon won. Santa would hang his head in shame, I hope this doesn’t make us candidates for the Naughty List. Thankfully I haven’t gained much this past month so it should be fairly easy to get back on track with the 17 Day Diet again. You know, after the two day sugar crash, complete with headaches and other un-pleasantries, it’s like rehab, but without the straight jackets and heavy nurses.

“It’s Blue”

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been sort of genius at guessing gifts, especially if I had asked for something specific. My mom always had to get creative when I was little and hide things in strange places (Like in the trunk of a car, where she had to take the keys and lock the car lest I figure it out and look in the trunk. And I did. And did. She forgot the keys one day.) or wrap the gifts in packaging that didn’t scream BARBIE DOLL or STACK OF CDs! Those were the good old days. If I couldn’t figure something out I’d ask, “Can I have a clue??” and the answer was always “It’s Blue!”, and that drove my 10 year old brain crazy. Years later, the answer is still “It’s Blue.”

The other day my mom slipped and told me that Ryan had asked her to pick up my gift. Of course, my inner child reared her ugly head and the rusty wheels began to turn, recounting where she’d said she’d been. After a few minutes of trying to solve the puzzle I asked dead panning-ly “I don’t suppose it’s blue, is it?” and she wittily replied “Well, as a matter of fact… it IS!”

I have since figured it out, I think. My husband doesn’t know the power of my mind reading. Or my ability to solve mysteries. Honestly, I should have been a detective. You’d think by now he would have figured this out, but alas. The other day we were in the car and he asked so slyly, “Wouldn’t it be great to have a nice long massage?” I mean… come. on. That’s too easy. (But yes, honey, it would be wonderful!)

The greatest gifts are unseen!

A couple of days ago I was running around my house panting, getting the girls together to go pick up Ryan from work. I don’t need Jillian anymore, this is my workout every morning and evening. Two-a-days… take that! Amid the chaos, my phone rings, and because I felt it possible to do everything one handed, I answered. It was my sister, and wouldn’t you know it, she gave me the best gift a sister could receive.

“Hey Kal, I just wanted to call and say something. I know we don’t always get along and I know we bump heads and have our differences, but I am so glad that we are the kind of people who don’t hold grudges and can get along. I know this will kind of catch you off guard and I don’t mean to be creepy, but I just wanted to tell you that I really appreciate you for who you are. I really do, and I just wanted to tell you that. And I love you.”

I love you, too, big sister.

I hope you all have a Wonderful Weekend and a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, Festive Yule, but most of all…. I hope you give more than you receive. You’ll find it’s the better gift.